Just One

The letter H made all the difference. It should have been an M, but I’ll blame the foggy contact lenses. I saw H. This tiny, insignificant mix up lead to an adventurous drive through unsavory parts of San Bernardino last week as I looked for the carpet store to pick up some laminate we ordered. What I thought was “Hill” Street was really “Mill” Street, and so my undesired exploration began…with a phone battery that was dying….as I wandered up a big hill….in a residential area…so obviously NOT the right way.๐Ÿ˜†

Sitting in front of the home that was clearly not a carpet store, Siri announced I “had arrived at my destination”. It should have been funny but I was frustrated, in a hurry, and annoyed at my own lack of awareness. How did I let myself get here? It should have been obvious this was the wrong direction. So I did what any rational person would do in this situation, I scolded my phone.๐Ÿ˜œ Stupid phone! ๐Ÿ˜†Upon further investigation of the address, I realized Siri wasn’t so dumb after all. She had followed the directions according to my prompting, making me the not-so-smart-one. I apologized to my dying phone as she flashed “low battery” and begged her to continue working for another 15 minutes to get me to the correct place. Am I the only one that has conversations with my phone? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Siri persevered, without talking back to me, and I had just enough battery to get there. Crisis averted. ๐Ÿ™Œ Phones are very forgiving.๐Ÿ˜

We can get off course so easily, can’t we? One negative thought, one reach toward retaliation, one flicker of fear, one jolt of jealousy, one selfish stop or start…just one. It only takes a teensy tiny little emotional detour on our part and before we know it we have a relational blow out, end up in a dead end job, circle the round-about of unforgiveness, lurk down the dark alleys of addiction, climb the hills of materialism and greed, or cruise the courts of complacency….Complacent Court can really trip me up. The trappings of this world are to many to name. We need a dependable navigation device to “stay on the straight path” (our favorite Hermie and Wormie reference, for those of you with kids.๐Ÿ˜‰) and we have one….The Bible.๐Ÿ˜Š God’s word is full of directions for living a full, joy-filled life, but He doesn’t force us to open it, seek Him, or even follow His promptings. He will let us travel down unsavory roads if we choose to do so, but He freely offers a better way. He is in fact, The WAY, The Truth and The Life.

Jesus will never get you lost and He will never lose you. When traveling down roads of uncertainty, His words bring comfort, peace, and assurance, even if circumstances remain unresolved. He gives glimpses of light in the dark alleys we meander down; enough light to get us back to His path, without shaming us home. He doesn’t scold us when we mess up or blow up; He just points to The Way, gently whispering directions to the perfect plan He has for us. His plans are far from easy for they require we maintain dependency on Him, but they will be full of hope and abundant blessings. (Not usually the monetary kind of blessings. That kind never lasts anyway.). I’m talking about the blessings of peace through the storms, hope, when life is uncertain, and above all, love, that is like no other. His love is eternal and not based on what we do, but what He’s done for us. It’s lavish. It quenches our deepest thirst. It restores us to health. It guides and is gracious. Oh how He loves us…

Need to get back on track with Jesus this week? It only takes one thought, one decision, one split second of surrender to find your way back to His way….just one. Seek Him and you will find Him. He’s not hard to find, if you’re looking. Make sure as you seek Him through His word, you don’t try to alter His directions to suit your path. You’ll just end up lost, probably on a hill you don’t want to be on, wondering how you got there. Let His word guide your path, even when it hurts. He may require that we journey down roads we never thought we would, but that’s where faith flourishes; leading us down unimaginable adventures with Jesus. Keep seeking Him one moment at a time, one turn at a time, one yield at a time, through the stops and starts. Don’t let one undesired stop derail you from His plan; just re-route, and get back on track. We won’t follow His roadmap perfectly and we are bound to get lost from time to time….that’s ok, He’s very forgiving. We can do all things through Him!

John 14:6~Jesus answered, โ€œI am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

Jer. 29:13~You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Proverbs 3:5-6~Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.

Jer. 29:11~For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

2 thoughts on “Just One

  1. Wonderful place to start the day, in Gods word. Thanks for the reminder to restart with even just one little thought or action. Love your messages sweetie!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

