When Happy Can’t Be Found

IMG_0258Grumpy. That pretty much sums up my attitude this past week. I have plenty of excuses for my grumpiness. We moved homes last Thursday, not just homes, but locations. The relocation meant a new home, new church, new city, new schools for our 3 kids, new EVERYTHING. New can be great and exciting….and overwhelming and exhausting. Add a bronchial cold/flu just to make things even more draining, and you’ve got one grumpy, fit to be tied, no whistling while I work, Mom. Did I mention all 3 of my kids are at 3 different schools? Try being in 3 places at once. As far as I know, only God can do that. 😉 Do you hear the edge in my tone? My kids and hubby sure have.😳 I don’t like grumpy me, but sometimes, happy just can’t be found.

You know what else is new? His mercies, every morning. In reading my devotional this morning, I was reminded of Gods amazing gift of mercy. Mercy is an act of kindness, compassion, or favor when it is unmerited and undeserved. Certainly I don’t deserve such love and grace from a God who is holy, and yet He says He gives it to me daily; freely and with great affection. How comforting is the love of our Heavenly Father?  His mercy is like a warm, cozy comforter that protects and comforts my tender, frightened and weary heart. Underneath all my grumpiness is a tired, worn out, scared Mom. He knows my every fretful thought and He longs to bring His reassurance and tenderness….even to grumpy me…and to grumpy you….or indifferent you….or selfish you….or bitter you….the list goes on and on, and so does His endless love for each of us.

I hope you experience His mercy today and then extend it to someone else in need. Life is full of challenges and we never know how much someone else might need a kind word, a kind act, or the freeing gift of mercy. It might just free them from Grumpy to Happy. Maybe not, but either way, God will be pleased and that’s reason enough. Mercy is undeserved…so don’t worry about those in your life earning it. None of us can. Today, I’m whistling while I work, wrapped in His mercy comforter. I’ve got this, because He’s got me. We can do ALL things through Him who gives us strength.

Lamentations 3:22-23. Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning;
Luke 6:36~36 Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.
Titus 3:5~He saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy.

2 thoughts on “When Happy Can’t Be Found

Leave a Reply

