Pliable Arms

Matt.6:10~…Your kingdom come, Your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

His will vs. my will. It’s an ever present struggle. There’s a song that comes on the radio called “Thy Will Be Done.” Yesterday I was imagining myself swaying with Jesus to that song, dancing and twirling to His lead. He moves forward, I move back. He moves back, I move forward. It was a beautiful image, and all at once, the picture changed. I was sitting on a chair across from Jesus arm wrestling, getting frustrated that there was no possible way of me winning. The image is ridiculous, wanting it my way, and fighting against the pull of God’s plan. It’s like an infant wresting a 300 pound linebacker, only I’m infinitely smaller and He’s infinitely bigger. While arm wrestling matches with God are laughable, I still find myself prone to resisting. Of course, God doesn’t force us to do anything, but He places circumstances into our lives to press back against our will; always for our benefit and His glory.

My oldest daughter could beat me at arm wrestling when she was 5 years old. I’m not kidding. 😬💪 For some reason my arms have never had much strength, even though I’m quite athletic. I suppose I could get stronger in that area, but I tend to focus more on my strengths than weaknesses. Consequently, my arm wrestling matches will more than likely end in defeat, which is fine by me, and brings much joy to my kids.😉

In the same way, I want God to win in my stubborn bouts of wrestling Him over plans for my life. I want to have pliable arms that relax and bend to His will, not mine. I’ve tried things my way, and I’d rather lose the wrestling match than go down my own broken path.

My will is all about ME. It’s often self centered, critical, mis-directed, insecure, and….small. I’ve never been a big dreamer, thinking about grand plans for my life. Never in a million years did I think I would be a pastors wife reaching people for Jesus, helping start two churches. Nor did I think I would lead worship, lead Zumba, speak in front of people….or write a blog! My plans were way smaller than God’s plans. In my mind I never had much to say or offer, just a heart tender to Jesus. It turns out He loves using average people for bigger purposes, and so I’ve learned to flex and stay pliable to His call on my life.  In the process, I’ve experienced the richness of His greater plans;  the sweet  fulfillment  of walking hand in hand with Jesus.

As we flex with God’s plan He strengthens us for the tasks He calls us to. Pressing in to Him, rather than against Him actually broadens our spiritual shoulders to carry more than we ever thought we could, enabling us to try new things, overcome obstacles, and live a life of abandon for Jesus.

I want to be spiritually fit in this life, not weak, wrestling with God over His plans for my life. If He tells me to overcome a bad habit, love in spite of people’s behavior, move forward when I’m sitting still, let go when I’m gripping the steering wheel of my life….I want to surrender to Him. No holding back or holding on to things He’s asking me to release. I’m far to weak to handle the challenges which arise out of the destruction of my own stubbornness.

Are you arm wrestling with God over something in your life? He’s telling you to lay it down, let it go, and move forward. If you’ve gotten off track and are feeling spiritually wimpy, press into Jesus. He’s the ultimate personal trainer. He equips us for every good work He has planned. Grab His hand and ask Him to guide you through your challenges. He speaks words of wisdom, love and encouragement….are you listening? Stop wrestling and start dancing, only let Him take the lead. You can do all things through Him!

Jer.29:11~For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Isaiah 64:8~But now, O LORD, You are our Father, We are the clay, and You our potter; And all of us are the work of Your hand.

Isaiah 45:9~Woe to the one who quarrels with his Maker– An earthenware vessel among the vessels of earth! Will the clay say to the potter, ‘What are you doing?’ Or the thing you are making say, ‘He has no hands’?

2 thoughts on “Pliable Arms

Leave a Reply

