Daily Bread

Matt.6:11~Give us today our daily bread.

Bread. It just makes me happy. Oh the wafting smells of fresh baked bread. Is there anything more deliciously intoxicating? It distracts me as I’m walking through the grocery store. Usually I make a beeline to the bakery in hopes that I will pick up a baguette or French bread that is still warm….be still my beating heart!😉 Seriously, a fresh baguette with butter….is there anything better? Maybe it’s the Italian gene in me, but I’m quite certain that bread helps cure sadness and possibly sickness. Ok, maybe I’ve gone overboard, but you get the idea. I love bread!

As I’ve journeyed through the Bible, I’ve discovered that bread is mentioned, a lot. In the King James Version it is mentioned 361 times…God must have known it would draw our attention. I’ve begun highlighting every mention of my high in carbs, doughy, friend. Sometimes it’s used to reference our tendency toward thinking to highly of ourselves, our pride, as we get puffed up like bread. Other times, it’s used to reference our need for our daily bread, the Bread of Life, that is Jesus.

The thing about bread is, it always leaves me wanting more. Who eats just one piece?? I’ve never eaten one piece and thought, yeah, that was plenty, I’m satisfied. Nope! It’s usually difficult to stop eating it once I’ve started. (Maybe it’s just me?😜🍞) I feel the same way about the Bread of Life.

Once I start encountering the sweet deliciousness of my God’s goodness, tenderness and love, I can’t get enough. I long to be in His presence, to take in His richness. He alone satisfies the hunger in my heart. I’ve found that if I feast on His word (the Bible) every day, it gives me strength, encouragement, perspective, and lasting joy. I do my best to start each day by asking Him to give me my daily bread. He knows what my soul needs better than I do….sometimes it needs vitamins and veggies, a dose of reality and cleansing truth to draw out impurities. Often His word speaks to my soul of His unconditional love, how He, the creator of all things, delights in us…it’s like savoring the sweetest, richest of bread puddings, only infinitely better. There are times I can hardly take it in, how lavish His love is for us! As I let Him search my heart through prayer and His word, I’m able to live out my purpose with greater clarity and savor each moment.

Are you feasting on the Bread of Life, or are you eating lesser things which will rob your soul of nutrients, decieving you into thinking your life is full? Don’t continue to consume empty calories which will only leave you with heartburn and indigestion. (This life has lots of empty calories to offer!) Taste and see how good God is. Start by asking Him to be your Bread of Life and to give you what you need.  Soak in His goodness through quiet times with Him. He will meet your needs daily as you seek Him with all your heart. Let Him satisfy your soul. Waft in the fragrant aroma of His goodness today. You can do ALL things through Him!

John 6:35~Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.
Psalm 34:8~Taste and see that the LORD is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.
Psalm 103:5~…who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

Phil.4:19~And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.

2 thoughts on “Daily Bread

  1. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to
    suggest you some interesting things or advice. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read more things about it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

