Fighting For Pennies

A 3 cent check was mailed to me last week. Apparently I was in a legal battle with AT&T and I didn’t know it.πŸ˜‰ As I opened the check and saw my big winnings, I thought, what a waste! The value of the check is worth less than the stamp to mail it…and so the check remains on my counter waiting to be deposited or discarded. There may be some recipients that received larger payouts but my pathetic check would be an embarrassment at the bank. As I rolled my eyes when glancing at the measly check, I thought, how rediculous. Was the legal battle worth the fight for 3 cents? But just as the thought entered my mind God spoke to my heart….most of the things you fight about are worth the same 3 cents, in the scope of eternity. What?? Woah, that was harsh God….but as I wrestled with the thought, I relinquished to the truth. He’s right! It’s so easy to get my eyes off of Jesus and onto what annoys me….like the driver that made me miss my chance at crossing our busy street when I was in a hurry (grrrr), or the FB post I saw that felt like an intentional missile fired in hopes of retaliation, or the comment made by my hubby which gnawed at me far to long the other day (poor guy didn’t know how long I chewed on that one😁)…..the list goes on and on. Many, if not most, of my battles are fought inwardly. My mind is often dueling with people, or myself. The time and energy spent on battling or begrudging trivial matters has about a 3 cent value in light of eternity.

What are you fighting for or about? What is your mind battling? The mind can be our biggest battlefield. Ask yourself,does this internal battle have eternal value? If not, let.it.go. Chances are, in a few hours, a week, a month or even a year from now, you won’t remember what it was you were annoyed by or fighting for. Let’s not waste one more moment fighting for pennies, when we can make kingdom investments.
Sounds simple enough, but oh it gets tough, from the moment our feet hit the ground in the morning until our heads hit the pillow at night, we are bombarded with opportunities to battle for spiritual chump change. Just like I was in a battle with AT&T, unbeknownst to me, we are all in a spiritual battle every day. The enemy is NOT other people, though he’d love to convince us of that, so we will be distracted fighting pointless battles. Today, I’m prayed up for battle and ready to make some eternal deposits by loving like Jesus. How about you? How can I pray for you? We can do ALL things through Him!πŸ’ͺπŸ™

1Tim.6:12~Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called when you made your good confession in the presence of many witnesses.
Eph.6:12~For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.
1Thess.5:16-18~Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.
Exodus 14:14 ~The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

Leave a Reply

