The Call

Resist your fear; fear will never lead you to a positive end. Go for your faith and what you believe. – T.D. Jakes

Heart racing, throat tightening, palms sweating…I looked up to see if Randy was feeling it too, the internal call. God was calling us to plant our first church. But how, where, with what resources, who would come…the questions came quicker than the answers. As I sat in the worship service where Randy was leading worship that Sunday, I had a clear vision of what I was to tell my hubby after church….it was time to start. No more just thinking and praying, the time was now and he had my full support.

From our first date I knew his desire to start a church and I also knew my fear (my inadequacy), every time he spoke of it. Up until that moment, I had refused even the possibility. God got my attention in that church service and in an instant my heart changed. Fear didn’t disappear from my mind, but I CHOSE to think about what I believed, instead of what I didn’t know. What I knew, without a doubt, was Randy had been called by God to this role and I was called to be his help-mate in this new adventure. It was now OUR calling.

In the end, we would leave that job at Colton First Baptist (now Centerpoint Church), having the senior Pastor’s blessings, with about 20 people committed to helping us start, $6,000.00, and lots of prayer. (As well as the backing of our network, TM) It was a thrilling, frightening, faith building experience as we planned for the birth of this new church in Fontana, CA. We launched Jan. 20, 2002 with just over 200 people in attendance. Not only did we birth a church, we announced our pregnancy the week before the church launched. Miracles still happen!

What if I had kept focusing on the fears instead of faith? Focusing on fear would have kept us complacent and stunted our growth. We would have missed out on God’s greater plan for our lives…as well as all the people FOL reached in the almost 7 years we pastored there. Truth is, I wasn’t “capable” of the tasks that were ahead of us, but God was, and He supplied me with what I needed. In trusting Him, I chose faith instead of fear. Fearful thinking is the path of least resistance but faith-filled thinking makes you stronger. What is God calling you to? He may not be calling you to start a church, but He is always calling us to grow. Is He challenging you to break a bad habit, let go of bitterness that is clogging you up spiritually, read your bible, start serving at church, or maybe just start attending church regularly….(fill in your dots)? Be brave and answer the call. Don’t delay what God wants to begin in you today. What He calls you to, He will lead you through. We can do ALL things through Him! Choose faith!

Phil.1:6~Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.
Romans 8:30~And those he predestined, he also called; those he called, he also justified; those he justified, he also glorified.

Hebrews13:21~Now may God….equip you with everything good for doing his will, and may he work in us what is pleasing to him, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever.

4 thoughts on “The Call

Leave a Reply

