Waiting

Seven.long.years. The struggles of infertility are agonizing. Those dreaded single pink lines when you’ve prayed ceaselessly for that extra line. Each time dreams felt shattered by the disappointment. I remember sinking into a rhythm of going to work, coming home, eating dinner with Randy, and then praying /crying in a corner of our house as I listened to “Be Still and Know” by Steven Curtiss Chapman. That cassette (yes I’m that old), was worn out. It seemed as though a heavy darkness was suffocating me. No joy, no peace, just pain…and silence.

While there is definitely a time to be still, I believe God had other instructions for me, if only I would have had ears to hear! If I could go back to that fearful, hopeless self, I would say, “This is the day the Lord has made. GET UP, rejoice, and be glad in it!” To many days were lost and I couldn’t see the blessings all around me. (You can imagine how much fun it was to be married to me😳). While we live and breathe on this earth God has great things in store for us! So, if you’re overwhelmed with grief and sadness, be still and know He’s God. Cry out your hopes and dreams…but then, GET UP and rejoice in the life you’ve been given!

Psalm 30:5~Weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.
Psalm 118:24~This is the day the LORD has made. We will rejoice and be glad in it!

Leave a Reply

