Oh Those Words

“You know you could be cute if you weren’t so chunky”. Oh those words. That 6th grade boy had no idea they would haunt me for decades. If only he could have left the IF out. His words could have brought healing to wounds that were already there. Instead, they reinforced what I already believed to be true…I was “almost” good enough. And so the striving began. Words shape us, for good or bad. They have power. Words can tear down or build up. They can bring healing or add injury. I’ve never forgotten his words, only now, it’s a reminder for me to be careful with what I speak. I want to speak life. What are you speaking to yourself or others? Replace negative words with God’s word. Prov.16:24~24 Gracious words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.💓

Leave a Reply

